COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF WORCESTER COUNTY, MARYLAND BILL 24-06

BY: Commissioners Abbott, Bertino, Bunting, Elder, Fiori, Mitrecic, and Purnell

INTRODUCED: May 21, 2024

A legislative bill to implement Md. Code, Alcoholic Beverages and Cannabis § 1-322 to establish the purpose for which money received from the State of Maryland's Community Reinvestment and Repair Fund may be used.

I. Be It Enacted by the County Commissioners of Worcester County, Maryland, that Taxation and Revenue Article of the County Government Article of the Code of Public Local Laws of Worcester County, Maryland is amended to add the following provisions:

Title TR3, Reinvestment and Repair Special Revenue Fund

§ TR 3-101 Worcester County Reinvestment and Repair Special Revenue Fund.

- (a) Fund established. There is a Worcester County Reinvestment and Repair Special Revenue Fund, into which all funds received from the State under § 1-322 of the Alcoholic Beverages and Cannabis Article of the Maryland Code must be paid.
- (b) **Special fund.** The Worcester County Reinvestment and Repair Special Revenue Fund is a special, non-lapsing fund.
- (c) **Purposes.** Revenue paid into the Fund must be used for:
 - (1) funding community-based initiatives intended to benefit low-income communities,
 - (2) community-based initiatives that serve disproportionately impacted areas, as defined in § 36-101 of the Alcoholic Beverages and Cannabis Article of the Maryland Code, or
 - (3) any related administrative expenses.
- (d) Prohibited uses. Revenue paid into the Fund must not be used:
 - (1) for law enforcement agencies or activities; or
 - (2) to supplant funding that otherwise would be appropriated for County programs that existed before July 1, 2023.

II. Be It Further Enacted by the County Commissioners of Worcester County, Maryland that this Bill will take effect 45 days from the date of its passage.

PASSED this ______ day of ______, 2024.

Attest:

County Commissioners of Worcester County, Maryland

Weston S. Young Chief Administrative Officer Anthony W. Bertino, Jr., President

Madison J. Bunting, Jr., Vice-President

Caryn G. Abbott, Commissioner

Theodore J. Elder, Commissioner

Eric J. Fiori, Commissioner

Joseph M. Mitrecic, Commissioner

Diana Purnell, Commissioner